Hawaiʻi Calls: November 2019

Pōʻaono/Saturday 11.30.19

iho: To go down, descend. Downhill, towards the sea. Go south or before the wind. Descent. Core, as of an apple, breadfruit, or pandanus. Cob, as of corn. Heart, as of celery. Spongy white growth in the center of a sprouted coconut, sometimes called coconut sponge. Pith. Flesh of the octopus after the skin is removed. Axis, as of the earth. Axle, as of a wheel. Collective terms for inner layers of white sleeping tapas below the kilohana. Block used in plaiting a hat to give shape to the crown. Battery, electric plug. Down, below.

Aloha Pōʻalima/Friday 11.29.19

ua: Rain. To rain. Rainy. Demon. Aforementioned, the one talked of.

Pōʻahā/Thursday 11.28.19

hina: To fall, tumble, or topple over from an upright position. To be controlled, as a disease. To fall morally. To throw down. A falling. Italics, probably so-called because italics slant. To blow in a straight course, as of wind. Gray- or white-haired. Gray. A goddess.

Pōʻakolu/Wednesday 11.20.19

lauahi: To destroy, as by fire or lava flow. Figuratively, quick, deft. Greedy, lecherous. Bag net used for fish.

Pōʻalua/Tuesday 11.26.19

lono: News, report, tidings, remembrance, rumor. Capitalized, one of your major gods brought from Kahiki. Capitalized, 28th day the lunar month. Capitalized, name of a star.

Pōʻakahi/Monday 11.25.19

malihini: Stranger, foreigner, newcomer, tourist, guest, company. One unfamiliar with a place or custom. New, unfamiliar, unusual, rare, introduced, of foreign origin. For the first time.

Lāpule/Sunday 11.24.19

mā: Faded, wilted, stained, discolored, blushing. Defeated. Passed away, perished. To have lost a former attractiveness. To fade. To clear.

Pōʻaono/Saturday 11.23.19

keʻu: To croak, hoot, grunt. To protest, scold, snap at, contradict, find fault. To make the common Hawaiian exclamation of disapproval.

Aloha Pōʻalima/Friday 11.22.19

‘olopū: Inflated, billowed out, as a sail in the wind. Puffed out, as cheeks of one eating. Blistered, as hands from work. Mouthful of food or water. Native, shrubby violet. Adze for cutting ʻōhi’a logs for images.

Pōʻahā/Thursday 11.21.19

waihona: Depository, closet, cabinet, vault, file, receptacle, savings, place for laying up things in safekeeping. Internal organs of the body, funds, treasury. Fiscal.

Pōʻakolu/Wednesday 11.20.19

ilina: Grave, tomb, sepulcher, cemetery, mausoleum, plot in a cemetery. Recipient.

Pōʻalua/Tuesday 11.19.19

poʻe: People, persons, personnel, population, assemblage, group of.

Pōʻakahi/Monday 11.18.19

palau: Betrothal. Betrothed, engaged. Plow, to plow.

Lāpule/Sunday 11.17.19

nele: Lacking, destitute, deprived, needy, wanting, deficient, without. To need. Deficit.

Pōʻaono/Saturday 10.26.19

īkā: To drift upon, strike against. To run aside from a straight course. Flotsam and jetsam. Sides of taro patch or garden.

Aloha Pōʻalima/Friday 11.15.19

‘ona: Drunk, dizzy and unsteady. Intoxicating. Intoxication. Owner, possessor, proprietor. To own.

Pōʻahā/Thursday 11.14.19

waiwai: Goods, property, assets, valuables, value, worth, wealth, importance, benefit, estate, use. Useful, valuable, rich, costly, financial.


Pōʻakolu/Wednesday 11.13.19

pākea: Pale, gray, as the face of a sick person. White inner sheets of sleeping tapa. Kind of mat made of makaloa rush, without design. Type of stone. A variety of taro.